The Ron Miner Memorial Scholarship honors the memory of J. Ronald Miner, an Agricultural Engineering professor at OSU for over thirty years. Ron came to OSU in 1972 and held various positions in teaching, research and extension. He served as head of the department from 1976 to 1986 and retired as professor emeritus in 2003. That same year, he was honored with the College of Agricultural Science’s Award for Excellence in International Agriculture. Ron was an internationally recognized expert on livestock waste management, water quality and odor control. At the same time, he served as an endlessly supportive coach and mentor to his graduate students. He will be remembered for his charm, his enthusiasm for life and his love of teaching.
To ensure that Oregon State University and the Biological & Ecological Engineering Department can continue to draw the highest-caliber students and thereby help build the programs’ national and international reputation.
The award shall consist of a cash award. The amount of the award will be dependent upon the annual income from the Ron Miner Memorial Scholarship that resides with the OSU Foundation. The name of the recipient and the year of the award will be inscribed on a plaque displayed in the Department of Biological & Ecological Engineering.DONORRon Miner Memorial Bioengineering Scholarship Fund.
The recipients must be graduate students enrolled full-time at OSU with Biological & Ecological Engineering being their academic major. SELECTIONThe Department of Biological & Ecological Engineering Scholarship Committee will make the selection of the recipient. Selection will be made based on scholarship, leadership and extra-curricular activities.PROCEDURESThe first award was presented in 2005 and is to be presented at an appropriate occasion selected by the Biological & Ecological Engineering Department Scholarship Committee. A student may apply for this award or be nominated by a fellow student or faculty member of the Biological & Ecological Engineering Department. A nomination packet will include a resume of the nominee, a letter of support from the major advisor, a copy of their most recent university transcript and no more than two letters of support.
Announcement of the award and the name of the recipient shall be facilitated through the Biological & Ecological Engineering Department.  


2019 Cheng Shi

2018 Tessa Artruc & Kyle Proctor

2017 Catherine Finkenbiner

2016 Carl Talsma

2015 Maoya Bassiouni

2014 Susan Elliott

2013 Leah Tai, Jon Viducich & Ningshengjie Gao

2012 Mark Luterra

2009 Tara O’Donnell

2008 Jed Eberly & Chadi Sayde

2007 Hongqiang Hu & Sun Hwa Park

2006 Laura Jensen