The Dale E. Kirk Endowment honors the legacy of Dale Kirk, an Agricultural Engineering professor at OSU for forty years. In addition to being one of the most sought-after professors on campus from the mid-1940’s to mid-1980’s, Kirk was also a pioneering researcher. Among his many engineering accomplishments, he developed a mechanical strawberry harvester and a grass seed field-burning device. He was very active in the American Society of Agricultural Engineers and a leader at the state, regional and national level. He was elected to the grade of Fellow, a distinction earned by only 2% of ASAE membership.  

 PURPOSE To ensure that Oregon State University and the Biological & Ecological Engineering Department can continue to draw the highest-caliber students and thereby help build the programs’ national and international reputation.


NATURE OF THE AWARD The award shall consist of a cash award given to an undergraduate student enrolled in the department. The amount of the award will be dependent upon the annual income from the Dale Kirk Endowment that resides with the OSU Foundation. The name of the recipient and the year of the award will be inscribed on a plaque displayed in the Department of Biological & Ecological Engineering.


DONOR Dale E. Kirk Endowment Fund.


ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS The recipient must be enrolled full-time as an undergraduate student at OSU with Ecological Engineering being their academic major.


SELECTION The Department of Biological & Ecological Engineering Scholarship Committee will make the selection of the recipient. Selection to be made based on scholarship, leadership and extra-curricular activities.


PROCEDURES The first award was presented in 2001. It is presented at the annual Biological & Ecological Engineering Spring Awards Banquet. A student may apply for this award or be nominated by a fellow student or faculty member of the Biological & Ecological Engineering Department. A nomination packet will include a resume of the nominee, a letter of support from the major advisor, a copy of their most recent university transcript and no more than two letters of support.



Announcement of the award and the name of the recipient shall be facilitated through the Biological & Ecological Engineering Department.

  • 2021 Abigail Marx
  • 2020 Grace Boisen 
  • 2019 Laurel Shepard
  • 2018 Sean Kounovsky
  • 2017 Logan Adams, Lucas Evans & Kimberly Solberg
  • 2016 Jessica Chadwick & Samuel Rabe
  • 2015 Austin Hall & Micco Emeson
  • 2014 Ryan Niese, Kayla Rickford & Mary Morgan McCarthy
  • 2013 Sada Egenriether
  • 2012 Zachary Dunn & Dustin DeGeorge
  • 2011 Drew Mahedy
  • 2010 Benjamin Dawson
  • 2009 Laureine El Khoury
  • 2008 Hilary Rogers
  • 2007 Cara Walter
  • 2006 Jed Eberly
  • 2006 Sun Hwa Park
  • 2005 Aristides Petrides
  • 2001 John Ellis & Clayton Jeffryes