Ralph N. Lunde, an honor student in Engineering, graduated from Oregon State University in 1926. He joined the faculty of the Department of Agricultural Engineering in 1930 after industrial experience with General Electric Company in Lynn, Massachusetts, Northwest Electric Company in Portland, Oregon, and two Corvallis automobile firms. For 40 years, Lunde taught courses in Engines and Tractors, Automotive Mechanics, and Agricultural Machine Design. His ability to put background theory into clear perspective when applying it to a practical problem was appreciated by students from all parts of the campus. His demand for excellence in the classroom and laboratory and his wealth of knowledge of traction and automotive equipment are two traits well remembered by the thousands of alumni of his courses. He enjoyed working with students and devoted countless hours to the Oregon Student Branch of the American Society of Agricultural Engineers.

PURPOSE To recognize demonstrated professional growth of an outstanding undergraduate student enrolled as a major in the Biological & Ecological Engineering Department.'

NATURE OF AWARD The award shall consist of a cash award. The amount of the award will be dependent upon the annual income from the Ralph N. Lunde Memorial Fund that resides with the OSU Foundation and need not be given every year if a worthy candidate is not selected. The name of the recipient and the year of the award will be inscribed on a plaque displayed in the Department of Biological & Ecological Engineering.

DONOR Ralph N. Lunde Memorial Fund

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS The recipient must be enrolled in the Department of Biological & Engineering as their academic major. The recipient must be enrolled as a full time student the term in which the award presentation is made and have at least one term left at OSU.

SELECTION The Department of Biological & Ecological Engineering Scholarship Committee will make the selection of the recipient. Selection will be based on scholarship and extra-curricular activities.

PROCEDURE The first award was presented in 1975. The award will be presented at an appropriate occasion selected by the Department of Bioengineering Scholarship Committee.  A student may apply for this award or be nominated by a fellow student or faculty member of the Department of Bioengineering. A nomination will include a resume of the nominee, a letter of support from the major advisor, a listing of grades earned at OSU and no more than two letters of support.

ANNOUNCEMENT AND PUBLICITY Announcement of the award and the name of the recipient shall be facilitated through the Biological & Ecological Engineering.


  • 2021 Ryan¬†Bernardino
  • 2020 Erin Drumm
  • 2019 Brooke Bennett
  • 2018 Marjorie Cheng-Leever
  • 2017 Arden Babb
  • 2016 Jack Blackham
  • 2015 Arden Babb & Wilhelm Geier
  • 2014 No Award Given
  • 2013 Graham DiNicola
  • 2012 Josh Higgins
  • 2011 Ryan Stewart
  • 2010 Hilary Rogers (declined)
  • 2008 Hongqiang Hu
  • 2006 Elizabeth Burrows
  • 2003 Chris Vick
  • 2001 Neil Geisler
  • 1999 Aubrey Gasper
  • 1998 Christine Salstrom
  • 1997 Carolyn Baker
  • 1996 Worakrit Suvajittanont
  • 1995 Minghua Tian
  • 1994 Mario Hess
  • 1993 Derek C. Godwin
  • 1992 No Award Given
  • 1991 Josef K. Hitz (AE)
  • 1990 Jefrey A. Rear (AE)
  • 1989 Bradley S. Hagberg (AE)
  • 1988 Michael F. Madigan (AE)
  • 1987 James M. McGaughey (AE)
  • 1986 Vince R. Vermeul (AE)
  • 1985 John A. Fazio (AE)
  • 1984 Dean M. Bowdish (AE)
  • 1983 Eric V. Newell (AET)
  • 1982 Craig W. Ward (AE)
  • 1981 Timothy M. Hellberg (AET)
  • 1980 Ailenn L. Hatch (AE)
  • 1979 Greg C. Roland (AET)
  • 1978 Gary S. Nuss (AE)